Community Health Needs Assessment

Click here to leave a comment.

Part of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA), the Community Health Needs Assessment is additional criteria for hospitals to maintain their tax-exempt, 501(c)(3) status. This requirement applies for tax years beginning after March 23, 2012.

A hospital must complete a CHNA at least every three years with input from the broader community, including public health experts. Hospitals are then asked to describe how they are addressing needs identified in the community health needs assessment as well as identify any needs not being addressed and explain why not. CHNAs must be made widely available, including through information on form 990s.

In our needs assessment, the following target areas were identified in ranking order for 2016:

1. Substance Abuse
2. Obesity
3. Mental Health & Suicide
4. Affordability
5. Diabetes
6. Cancers and Cancer Testing

Cibola General Hospital's full report of the CHNA can be found below by clicking the link.

2016 Community Health Needs Assessment Implementation Plan